Diary of a God Girl

…eat slow, take small bites

Cotton Knees

Leading Role:  God

Supporting Role:  Me

Int. Bedroom. Morning.

In the mid 1980’s, after a prayer time, I had my first vision.  I am standing on a stage in front of a crowd of people.  Another person is standing alongside me.  I believe this person is a male.  At first, I thought I would be singing, perhaps now, I would be speaking.   Speaking about the once broken things in my life, the hope in my life, Jesus in my life.  

Me

August dusk turns to dawn

on cotton knees I turn to Thee

and humbly empty out my heart

before Your majesty.

Lord, I am not a girl who longs

for typical “girly” things,

Prada shoes, Louis Vuitton bags

don’t mean a thing to me.

And Lord, don’t get me started with women

on their Nordstrom shopping sprees

who hunt for the “perfect” red lipstick

to match their perfect Chanel pleats.

For my fashion is of a spiritual one

it is Your name I choose to wear

previewed 2000 years ago

in temples, hillsides, on crashing waves.

And what bothers me more than anything

across coffee tables and mounds of blue

is that flippy, floppy “universal” comment,

“It’s all good. Whatever works for you?!”

And Lord, how in this world, if you live in this world,

do you not know who James Foley is?!

The precious son and brother of an American family

beheaded by the demonic ISIS.

Now Lord, help me, tell me please,

how on this wrecked up earth

does a girl with a vision and a vagabond purse

rise up from cotton knees?

 

Habbakuk 2:2-3 “Write down the revelation and make it plain on tablets so that a herald may run with it.  For the revelation awaits an appointed time; it speaks of the end and will not prove false.  Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay.

 

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

