Diary of a God Girl

…eat slow, take small bites

The Eucharist

I grew up in the small town of Carmel, NY.  I was raised Catholic so every weekend the family would attend our small town church, St. James.  One morning, after receiving holy communion, I went back to the pew and knelt to pray. I ducked my head so no one could see me take the eucharist from my mouth and put it into my pocket. I went home and placed it in a little white box and hid it way in back of my underwear dresser drawer.  I thought to myself, “This is really cool!  I just took God home with me and now we would be together all the time.  Not only would the eucharist be safe but I would be safe and I wouldn’t have to wait for Sundays to “get” with God and tell Him things.”  

One morning, my mother walked into my bedroom while I was holding the eucharist in my hand.   She asked, “What are you doing?”  I said,  “I am talking to God.”  If you could only have seen the look on her face when I told her what I had done.  I was in big trouble.  My mother ordered me to throw the eucharist away warning me never to do this again!   

Matthew 19:14 Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

